IUSSI logo
IUSSI North-west European section

International Union for the Study of Social Insects

who's where vacancies INSECTSmail

Student conference grants

The section gives a limited number of grants to student members, mostly to support attendance at national and international conferences.

A small number of grants will be provided to support in-person attendance to the Winter meeting in Oxford by members of NWE-IUSSI. Criteria for eligibility are as follows:

  1. The applicant must be a member of the NW European Section of the IUSSI (2021 membership* must have been paid before submitting an application).
  2. The priority for this funding is to support and encourage student attendance at the IUSSI Winter meeting. However, applications will be accepted from section members who are not currently students, but the applicants must declare (in their statement) that they have no other source of funding to support their participation in the meeting.
  3. The applicant must have submitted an abstract to give an oral presentation or a poster presentation.
  4. Funds may only be used to support attendance at the 2021 Winter meeting of the NWE-IUSSI in Oxford.
  5. Grants can only been given to the presenting author.

*All members who have paid their membership fees for 2020 are automatically registered as members for 2021 and don’t have to pay for this year.

Application process

Applicants should prepare an application, covering the information below, and send it to the section treasurer (Dr Fabio Manfredini, fabio.manfredini@abdn.ac.uk) as a Word file or PDF attachment:

  1. Name, University/Affiliation, Course and Year of Study (if applicable), Supervisor(s).
  2. A brief (~100 word) statement describing the benefits to the applicant of attending this meeting.
  3. Title and abstract submitted for presentation at the meeting.
  4. Breakdown of foreseen costs associated with the meeting.
  5. Amount requested from the Section.
  6. Confirmation that the student agrees to provide proof of attendance at the Congress and will agree to Participate in a live twitter feed of the IUSSI Congress (or equivalent).

Ranking of candidates:

Priority will be given to:

  1. Students (particularly those in the latter years of their PhD studies).
  2. Applicants who have not received a travel grant from the section previously
  3. Students who have exhausted other alternatives for funding
  4. Only ONE grant will be awarded per individual

You can also download this information as a PDF file here: Travel-grants_Oxford-meeting-2021

Further grants will be available in 2022 to attend the international congress of the IUSSI in San Diego, California.

You can find out more about joining the section, and the IUSSI in general, on the "You are welcome to join the IUSSI today" page.

If you have any questions please contact the section treasurer, Fabio Manfredini: fabio.manfredini@abdn.ac.uk

Previous applicants

The successful students applicants for the 2018 grants to attend the IUSSI meeting in Brazil were:

Jack Beresford, Kulmuni lab
Ryan Brock, Bourke lab
Dominic Burns, Robinson lab
Adam Devenish, Sumner lab
Eleanor Drinkwater, Robinson lab
Emeline Favreau, Wurm lab
Sanja Hakala, Helantra lab
Jack Howe, Boomsma lab
Patrick Kennedy, Sumner lab
Carlos Martinez Ruiz, Nichol & Wurm labs
Ash Samuelson, Gill & Leadbeater labs
Veronica Sinotte, Poulsen lab
Harry Siviter, Leadbeater lab
Robin Southon, Sumner lab
Benjamin Taylor, Sumner lab
Jens van Eeckhoven, Duncan lab

In addition, the following postdoc & non-students received grants:

David Collins, Bourke lab
Elizabeth Evesham
Joanito Liberti, Boomsma lab

The successful applicants for the 2016 grants to attend the IUSSI meeting in Helsinki were:

Aaran Folly, Royal Holloway, UK
Anne Anderson, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Callum Martin, Royal Holloway, UK
ChrisAccleton, University of Sussex, UK
David Trenaor, University of Sussex, UK
Elizabeth Samuelson, Royal Holloway, UK
Feargus Cooney, University of Exeter, UK
Pinar Guler, Regensburg University, Germany
Robyn Manley, University of Exeter, UK
Shunlin He, Free University of Berlin, Germany
Saria Otani, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

The successful 2012 applicants were:

Gemma Baron, Royal Holloway, University of London
Gianluigi Bigio, University of Sussex, UK
David Collins, University of East Anglia, UK
Kirsten Foley, University of Leeds, UK
Peter Graystock, University of Leeds, UK
Marja-Katariina Haatanen, University of Turku, Finland
Jacob Holland, University of East Anglia, UK
Jonna Kulmuni , University of Oulu, Finland
Rowena Mitchell, University of Leeds, UK
Claire Morandin, University of Helsinki, Finland
Jenni Paviala, University of Helsinki, Finland

This site is maintained and promoted on the Internet by David Nash email to: DRNash @ bio.ku.dk
Last modified Saturday, November 13, 2021